Nine Candidates Are Running in NEWNC Election

The following nine residents have filed papers to be candidates for the six open seats in the May 18, 2013 NEWNC election:

A. Damien DiPaola, Lathrop Pl.

B. Philip Frattaroli, Harris St.*

C. Robert Gomes, Commercial St.

D.  Maria Lanza, Commercial St.

E. David Marx, Thacher St.*

F. Jorge Mendoza, Stillman Pl.*

G. Stephen Passacantilli, Hanover St.*

H. Edward Rice, Snow Hill St.

I.  Raffaele Verrocchi, Sheafe St.


(Note: The order shown above is alphabetical, not the ballot order.

Candidate papers are subject to signature verification. Write-in candidates are allowed on the day of the election.)

The NEWNC election is scheduled for Saturday, May 18, 2012, 10am-2pm at the Nazzaro Community Center, 30 N. Bennet St. Boston, MA 02113.

All North End / Waterfront residents are eligible to vote with proof of residency.

Candidates will have the opportunity to  introduce themselves on Monday, May 13, 2013 at the monthly NEWNC meeting (7pm, Nazzaro Center).

The North End / Waterfront Neighborhood Council was created in 1984 by the Mayor’s office in an effort to increase communication between the neighborhoods and city agencies. NEWNC is comprised of twelve North End/Waterfront residents who serve as an advisory board to the City of Boston regarding municipal affairs. Council members are elected to two year terms that are staggered so that six seats are filled each year.

The six council members with one more year left on their two-year terms include Toni Gilardi, Ryan Kenny, John Pregmon, Gennaro Riccio, Marie Simboli and Anne Devlin Tagliaferro. The Council meets on the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Nazzaro Center,  30 North Bennet Street.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.