Cardinals Wear NEAA Baseball Crown

The regular season champs (9-2) became the playoff champs when the St Agrippina Cardinals swept through the playoffs to pick up the trophy.

The Cardinals, as the #1 seed drew the Indians in the first round. Although the Indians were game the Cardinals had too much firepower and swept them 2 games to 0.

In the finals the Cardinals played the #2 seed Cubs (7-4). The Cubs were valiant but the result was the same as the Cardinals swept the Cubs by scores of 10-4 and 9-4.

The Cardinals played strongly in all three aspects of the game. Their offense was led by the hitting of regular season MVP Colm Vraibel.

He was capably support by the big bats of Nico LaColla, Joseph Everett, Liam Finn, Jo-Jo Brienze Eamon Vraible and Jesse Sablone. In the field great defense provided by Liam Finn, Michael McLaughlin and Jo-Jo Brienze stifled the opposing teams rally at every turn.

On the mound playoff MVP Nico LaColla was dominant with his mixture of fastball and knuckleballs.

Strong pitching was turned in by Joseph Everett and Stephen Griffin. Rian Finn and Luca Orlandi contributed with clutch at bats and solid base running.

Coaches Ralph Martignetti and Vincent Sablone were very proud of their club’s effort all year and commented on how great it was to coach such quality ballplayers.

Regular Season MVP: Colm Vraibel-Cardinals

Pitcher of the Year: Nico LaColla-Cardinals

Sportsman of the Tear: Peter Shea-Cubs

Rookie of the Year: Richard Wells-Tigers

Coach of the Year: Dan Shea-Cubs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.