NEWNC Community Election May 17

It’s almost May and that means the North End/Waterfront Neighborhood Council (NEWNC) must conduct a community election for six openings on the neighborhood board, which consists of twelve members.

Each year, six of the Council members must seek re-election consisting of two-year terms.

NEWNC members whose terms have expired are: Marie Simboli, Anne Devlin Tagliaferro, Gennaro Riccio, Ryan Kenny, Toni Gilardi and John Pregmon.

NEWNC members with one-year remaining include: Philip Frattaroli, Maria Lanza, David Marx, Ralph Verrocchi and Jorge Mendoza. Stephen Passacantilli (who resigned) seat will be up for election in 2015.

Residents that serve on the Council do so as volunteers and conduct monthly meetings on the first Monday of each month at 7pm in the Nazzaro Community Center.

The 2014 election will be held on Saturday, May 17 in the Nazzaro Community Center from 10am to 2pm.

Ballots will be counted publicly in the Center and the six winners will be announced. If a recount is required, it will be counted immediately.

Residents can vote for up to six candidates on the ballot.

NEWNC Vice-President Maria Lanza is the election chairperson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.